Link to Curtin homepage      CurtinSearch | Curtin Site Index 
Ripples Web Site - Curtin's Online Newsletter for Staff
Feature story
Curtin Network News
Staff & Area Profile
Hello and Goodbye
Round of Applause
Behind the Curtin
Photo Gallery
About Ripples
Past Editions
Contact us

You are viewing the
March 2009
archived edition of Ripples
return to current edition


Round of Applause

2008 Vice-Chancellor's Excel Awards

This year the VC Excel awards were judged on innovation, how the people concerned contributed to the reputation of the University, and the sustainability of projects.

The nominations received reflect only a small indication portion of the excellent work that is being carried out by staff across the university. It is through the innovative approach and the commitment to the delivery of teaching and services by staff that enhances Curtin's reputation.

Four awards were granted for 2008, and it is interesting to see that all winning nominees had, in addition to being innovative, demonstrated a real commitment and dedication to promoting the University. They did this through their actions and the delivery of service and advice to students, staff and the external community that went well beyond the Universities expectation.

Individual Category Winners

Prof Rob Donovan - Centre for Behavioural Research in Cancer Control - awarded for his selfless assistance to numerous university staff, health professionals, community agencies and Government Departments which has resulted in him being seen as a world authority in social marketing, thus enhancing Curtin's reputation.

Chris Donovan and Jeanette Hacket
Professor Jeanette Hacket and Chris Donovan accepting on behalf of his father

Ms Haslina Abdul Malek - Sarawak - awarded for her commitment and dedication in the establishment of University Life at the Sarawak Campus. Haslina is an agent of change and through this and her partnering with external agencies she has enhanced the reputation of the University within the Sarawak area.

Haslina Abdul Malek and Jeanette Hacket
Haslina Abdul Malek and Professor Jeanette Hacket

Team Category Winners

Housing Services - Bentley Campus - awarded for the delivery of the highest quality of services at all times that exceeds expectations of clients and the industry.

Curtin Housing Team
Curtin Housing Team

Sarawak Graduation Team - awarded for their voluntary work in the development and ongoing delivery of graduation ceremonies and other ceremonial events.

Others nominated were:

  • Individuals within the International Office and Housing Services who provide advice and service to new to Curtin students.
  • The Library Exhibition Team for the recent exhibition on Research with Curtin.
  • Mr Jarrad Brown, Campus Life for the continual growth of the John Curtin Leadership Academy.
  • Associate Professor Helen Fairnie, Faculty of Health, for her continuous commitment in supporting students, particularly international students, through the development and delivery of various programs that enable the students to engage with other students and with the university.
  • Associate Professor Joan Wardrop, Faculty of Humanities for her contribution to developing new, highly effective teaching strategies within the Department of Social Sciences.
  • Dr Sandra Nasr, for her work in the development of a new unit , Oil God and War.
  • Ms Iris Vardi, Staff Services for work undertaken on Academic Promotions and for the innovative approach in establishing effective partnerships across various areas within the University.
  • Ms Katherine Bathgate, Faculty of Health, for her dedication and inspiration in supporting students and staff within the School of Public Health which has made a major contribution to the quality of learning that health science students receive.
  • Jeya Chandra Malar, the Learning Centre, Curtin Sarawak, for the significant contribution to, and impact on, the development of teaching and learning as a focus in planning and strategy for the Sarawak Campus.

The Excel Committee has put forward a number of suggestions in relation to the VC Excel Awards and how they might be improved both in process and in promotion of the awards for all staff. The Vice Chancellor has agreed to many of the suggestions. The Vice Chancellor wants the VC Excel Awards to be the most prestigious award on campus for staff. She will take this opportunity to review the award and see how it sits in relation to other awards offered across the University, in particular those within Faculties.

SCECO (Student Central Eco)

Student Central has decided to get pro-active this year in an effort to save the planet! Not content with just watching paper usage they created the SCECO team!

Student Central Eco logo

The Student Central Eco team have raised awareness within Student Central about being kind to Mother Earth. They have implemented an aluminium can recycling point in the staff room, kept everyone up-to-date with interesting tips and tricks in the weekly newsletter and filled a Mobile Muster collection box - Mobile muster is the official recycling program of the mobile phone industry.

Plus on the 15th October 2008 they held a Green Travel Morning Tea - encouraging alternate forms of travel to work. Staff rode bikes, walked, took public transport and car pooled in an effort to help the planet. Hopefully these small steps can make a big difference!

John Curtin Weekend Team 2008

Congratulations and well done to the John Curtin Weekend Team. The team, comprised of 28 students and staff, organised 600 volunteers to travel to 31 country towns, 3 metropolitan sites in WA and 2 International sites over the four weekends in October to do community work. This project, in its ninth year, is organised through Curtin Volunteers!, a student run organisation.

A fantastic effort by an amazing group.

See the Feature Story & Photo Gallery for more information.

Team Members

Maureen Meredith JCW Coordinator and Regional Coordinator
Katrina Warwicker JCW Intern and Regional Coordinator
Marc Phillips Regional Coordinator and Budget
Clare Gaze Regional Coordinator 
Karen Elrington Regional Coordinator
Terri Traub Registrations/Admin
Linda Le Registrations/Admin
Sheron Tang Registrations/Admin
Amu Lu Registrations
Hannah Berglund Recruitment
Elise Martinson Year Book
Melissa Gilbert T shirt orders/Registrations
Rusty Hammond Art work T shirt and notepad design
Chris Wilkes Promotion designer
Scott Morgan IT
Joe Oliver IT
Sarah Connor Recruitement/Promotion
Ange van Es Sundowner/Photo Competition
Karen Motta Sundowner/Photo Comp
Rikki Nayler Media
Matt Kelly Slideshow presentation
Aaran Mohann Slideshow presentation
Surbhi Dewan Administration
Victoria Bishop Sundowner/Photo competition
Ian Fairnie Advisor
Jennie Walsh Advisor
Cameron Wright Advisor
Natasha Moore Advisor

CV! logo


     Round of Applause